

Goals

The main objectives of the AICW-Bressani Literary Prize are to inspire and recognize books by Canadian authors of Italian origin. We seek to celebrate the richness of the Italian-Canadian experience by honouring the literary expression of our writers.

Submission Guidelines

The AICW-Bressani Literary Prize is awarded to the Italian-Canadian author of the best literary work in six categories: Fiction, Poetry, Playwrighting, Children's Book, Non-Fiction, First Book. E-books and self-published books are eligible. Submissions must be first editions.

Submissions are accepted from Canadian citizens and permanent residents of Italian ancestry. Authors must be 18 years or older.

Submitted works must be in Italian, English, French or Italian dialect. (Translations are not eligible.)

Works must be published between June 1, 2021 and August 31, 2024.

Each submission must be accompanied by the Entry Form, which can be found at the end of this document, or at <u>www.aicw.ca/literaryprize</u>

The entry fee for each submission is \$50 to cover administrative costs. Go to <u>https://aicw.ca/donate/</u> or send an e-transfer to <u>treasurer@aicw.ca</u> or include a personal cheque payable to AICW with the entry form.

For each category, each submission must include 4 copies of the book. E-Books should be submitted in ePub or .mobi format and **will only be accepted if paper copies are not available**. Submitted works will not be returned.

An author can submit only one title per category. A title submitted to First Book can also be submitted to **one** other category. In that case, 8 copies of the title must be submitted with a \$100 fee and 2 entry forms.

Each submission must be the work of a single author. No co-authored books and no edited books or anthologies will be accepted.

Submissions must be sent or delivered in a sealed package along with the entry form to the address below and must be postmarked no later than **November 4, 2024**.

Association of Italian-Canadian Writers AICW-Bressani Literary Prize c/o Dennis Maione 51 Deering Close Winnipeg, MB R2K 4K6 aicwbressaniprize@gmail.com



Selection and Adjudication

The winner in each category receives \$1,000 and a certificate.

Finalists receive a one-year AICW membership and a certificate.

For each category, a three-member Jury selects three finalists and then chooses the winners. The Jury's decision is final.

Finalists in each category are publicized two months before the Jury announces the winner.

The AICW and the Jury are not responsible for issues arising from any alleged plagiarism in the winning works.

In the case of insufficient or inadequate entries, the prize will not be assigned in one or more categories. The decision of the Jury in this respect is final.

All participants are invited to attend the award ceremony. Winners are encouraged to attend or to delegate a person of their choice to accept the prize.

The award ceremony will be held in 2026; details will be released when the finalists are announced. Neither subsidy nor reimbursement is available for travel or accommodation expenses.

Background and History

The Italian Cultural Centre in Vancouver established the biennial F.G. Bressani Literary Prize in 1986, accepting the proposal brought forth by the late C. Dino Minni and Anna Foschi Ciampolini. The creation of the Bressani Prize coincided with the city's centennial celebrations and the launch of the First National Conference of Italian-Canadian Writers, held in Vancouver in 1986. The Prize is named after Fr. Francesco Giuseppe Bressani (Italian Jesuit missionary, born in Rome in 1612, and author of *Breve Relatione*), considered to be the precursor of Italian-Canadian writing. In 2020, the Italian Cultural Centre relinquished all rights to the Association of Italian-Canadian Writers, which is now the sole manager and organizer of the AICW-Bressani Literary Prize.



Winners

2022

David Giuliano, *The Undertaking of Billy Buffone* (Fiction) Christine Ottoni, *Cracker Jacks for Misfits* (First Book) Marcello Di Cintio, *Driven: The Secret Lives of Taxi Drivers* (Non-Fiction) Alessandra Naccarato, *Re-Origin of Species* (Poetry)

2018

George Amabile, Martial Music (poetry)

2016

Michael Mirolla, *Lessons in Relationships Dyads* (short stories)

2014

Michael Mirolla, *The House on 14th Avenue* (poetry) Darlene Madott, *Stations of the Heart* (fiction) Eufemia Fantetti, *Sweets* (short fiction) David MacFarlane, *The Figures of Beauty*

2012

George Amabile, *Dancing, with Mirrors* (poetry) Vince Agro, *The Good Doctor* (fiction) George Amabile, *Small Change* (short fiction) Lynne Bowen, *Whoever Gives Us Bread* (creative non-fiction)

2010

Pasquale Verdicchio, *This Nothing's Place* (poetry) Michael Mirolla, *Berlin* (fiction) Michelle Alfano, *Made Up of Arias* (short fiction) Caterina Edwards, *Finding Rosa* (creative non-fiction)

2008

Elana Wolff, *You Speak to Me in Trees* (poetry) Victoria Miles, *Magnifico* (novel) Darlene Madott, *Making Olives* (short fiction) Donna Caruso, *The Clothesline* (creative non-fiction)

2006

Carmine Starnino, With English Subtitles (poetry) Mena Martini, Cristallo (novel) Fabrizio Napoleone, Leftovers (short fiction) Dave Bidini, Baseballissimo (creative non-fiction)

2004

Carmelo Militano, *Ariadne's Thread* (poetry) Frank G. Paci, *Italian Shoes* (novel)

2002

Fulvio Caccia, *Selected Poems* (poetry) Pietro Corsi, *Winter in Montreal* (novel) Antonio D'Alfonso, *Fabrizio's Passion* (novel) Penny Petrone, *Breaking the Mould* (short fiction)

2000

Concetta Principe, Interference (poetry) Peter Oliva, The City of Yes (novel) Joe Fiorito, The Closer We Are to Dying (short fiction)

(the Italian Cultural Centre discontinued the Prize from 1996 to 2000)

1994

Olive Senior, *Gardening in the Tropics* (poetry) M.G. Vassanji, *The Book of Secrets* (prose)

1992

Liliane Welch, *Life in Another Language* (poetry) Ven Begamudre, *A Planet of Eccentrics* (prose)

1990

Len Gasparini, *Ink from an Octopus* (poetry) Nino Ricci, *The Lives of the Saints* (prose)

1988

John Terpstra, Forty Days and Forty Nights (poetry) Michael Ondaatje, In the Skin of a Lion (prose) Silvano Zumaro, Autostrada per la Luna (poetry)

1986

Robert F. Harney, From the Frontier to the Little Italies: The Italians in Canada 1800-1941



ENTRY FORM

Author (first and last name):	
Address:	
City: Provin	ce: Postal Code:
Phone:	
Work Submitted (title):	
Publisher:	
Publication Date (mm, yyyy):	
Category: Fiction Poetry Playwrightin	g Children's Book Non-Fiction
First Book	
Certification	
I, (print name clearly)	s born in Italy.
I hereby authorize the Association of Italian-Canadian Writers, and any directors, officers, or affiliates, to make such inquiries and investigations as they deem necessary to verify the information I have provided in this entry. I understand that any information contained in this entry that is determined by the Association of Italian-Canadian Writers to be untrue may invalidate my entry and disqualify me from the AICW-Bressani Literary Prize.	
SIGNATURE	DATE